top of page
  • Writer's pictureCleo

A Crash Course in Sibelius

Updated: Oct 29, 2018

Week 1- Skills 2: Notation software: illustrations, worksheets and quality resources. Copyright. (3.8.18)


In lesson 2, Liz took us through some common notation software and the pros and cons of each one. I personally use Musescore because it's free. I also love the sharing aspect, because it means I can upload my scores from my computer, open them on my tablet, and simply pop it up on my music stand to practice or record.


Most of our time was spent running through the basic tools offered by Sibelius. I haven't used Sibelius in probably six years, but the interface was highly intuitive (especially if you've used other similar software like Musescore or Finale). I definitely put ease of use and efficiency at the top of my pros, although perhaps a little complicated if all you want is basic features. If complicated is what you're looking for, I did love the more advanced features of Sibelius. We spent some time looking at how to make worksheets, removing bars, and changing instruments within the same part. All in all, I think for basic scores I'm happy to stick with Musescore, but if I definitely enjoyed refreshing my knowledge of Sibelius.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page